Chapter 1.4 – Bitter Work

So last time first-gen spouse Kyla got pregnant with her and Emerson’s, uh… fourth child, in an attempt to get a second girl. Since I’m doing strict equality (boy-girl) we need a girl heiress since I started with a male founder. Wish me luck!

Everything was progressing smoothly, when suddenly…

09-14-14_7-56 PM

“GRAWWWR”

Kyla?? What’s with the face? You’re scaring me!

09-14-14_7-56 PM-2

“RAWRR SOMETHING IS THREATENING MY BABIES”

“What? Mom, what’s wrong?”

09-14-14_7-56 PM-3

“ADRIAN GET AWAY FROM THERE!”

“Pfft, why? Did you see a bug or something?”

09-14-14_7-57 PM

“AAAAGH! KILL IT, MOM, KILL IT!”

09-14-14_7-58 PM

*intense run-away-from-fire face!*

*intense extinguishing face!*

09-14-14_8-00 PM

“Hmm, why are all my kids frantically running out of the house? Did Kyla make tilapia again?”

09-14-14_8-06 PM

“So that’s what causes fire! I’ll have to make a note of that!”

…I didn’t know the chemistry lab could catch on fire. No one told me that!! It’s a good thing Kyla was home; this game lets children be unsupervised, and the triplets usually are for around 3 hours a day! This thing is dangerous!

But… he needs to make potions for his Whiz Kid aspiration, so I put him on it again immediately after this picture. Back to work!

09-14-14_8-12 PM

Everyone is working tirelessly through their crippling exhaustion at their various wants, whims, aspirations, etc., etc., etc. In this picture, aspiring Whiz Kid Adrian reads, and Emerson, still unable to experience writer’s block despite me enacting all the advice I’ve gotten and read, turns to drinking (milk).

You guys, this is hard. None of these aspirations are easy–even getting an A is ridiculous, promotions are hard… Everything keeps breaking and getting dirty… Everyone has a permanent “boy that food sucked” moodlet and a “eww this toilet is gross” moodlet. It’s just a horrible scene.

09-14-14_8-58 PM

This is the kind of thing I’m talking about. Passed out in a puddle.

You guys, I used to be such a good sim wrangler. I would take over my mom’s and sibling’s games and BAM sims would get promotions and be happy–everything would fall into place. I have no idea how it came to this.

09-14-14_8-35 PM

“It’s nice of you to invite me over, little girl, but… don’t you have any kids to play with?”

“Kids? Kids are a myth. Now do you want to hear a story about a pony or a joke about boogers?”

Anne is trying to be a Social Butterfly and needs kid friends, but… I can’t… find any children in this town. It’s been too long for the premade sims to still be kids, and no townie kids have shown up, no matter how often I hit the park. Are they in the library? In bars? In a bunker, hiding from Anne? I have no idea. Things got desperate.

09-19-14_6-03 PM-2

“Hey, there, Arthur old buddy, put ‘er there!”

“Um, okay…”

“Art, can I call you Art? You’re a kid, right, aren’tcha, Art?”

“Anne, I’m the same age as you!”

“Perfect, howsabout we get to know each other better, have a long chat over a cup of milk, really get down to brass tacks?”

“Wh… what??”

09-19-14_5-59 PM

“You’ll be my best friend, right Art, best friend forever? Right? Smile for the camera, Art.”

“Oh, uh… sure!”

“Thanks, thanks a lot, now get out of here.”

Yes. BFFs with her brother. They also became Partners in Crime, which was so cute. Anne got an option to stuff geeks in the locker, but Arthur, a Geek himself, had the option to locker-stuff jocks. Just a cute little detail.

09-19-14_3-05 PM

SCREEEEE EEEE REEECHHH

As for Arthur, in a desperate attempt to avoid making his family gouge their ears out to end the pain of listening to an amateur play violin, the little aspiring Artistic Prodigy has been banished to outside the house to play for his required 10 hours of musical instrument playing.

No one was bothered for once (yay!), but don’t worry, he felt bad about his playing anyway and got a bad moodlet for his very own (grrrr!).

09-14-14_8-24 PM

Kyla, working her way up through the culinary career, stymies when it comes to reading books about mixology, and tends bar. Like everything else, she is bad at it.

09-14-14_8-52 PM

“Ow! Baby! It hurts!”

Please don’t mess this up, too. Fingers crossed for a girl!

09-14-14_8-54 PM

“Aww, aren’t you just the cutest little boy!”

NOT ANOTHER ONE! Kyla!!

At least it’s just one this time. I named him Louis because I am not continuing this A name thing. Well, we’ll just have to try again.

09-19-14_3-00 PM

“Hey, Em, wanna… you know…” *wink*

“BOY, DO I!”

Shh, no one tell him why.

09-19-14_3-07 PM

Baby number 5 is a go! (I can’t believe I am saying that.)

Lynnwood who writes the Gieke Legacy told me when I started this challenge that since Kyla had triplets, that meant she’d only have to go through pregnancy once!

Hahaha! She’s obviously never seen me play before. MORE BABIES, MORE!!

09-19-14_3-36 PM

“How does Adrian work this thing? Hey wait, why are my feet getting hot?”

09-19-14_3-37 PM

“Haha! Dad to the rescue!”

“AAAAGH! WHO IS THAT?”

*cough cough* Emerson exists, I swear! He’s just writing… all the time… Still working on that writer’s block. Any day now!! *cries*

09-19-14_3-50 PM

“Oh, Mr. Roboto, you’re so funny! Let’s be friends!”

…Is it bad that I just now realized you can gain social and creativity from toys?

Oh, and here’s Louis! I grew him up a little early because I hate babies. He wants to be a Rambunctious Scamp, and is Outgoing.

I gave him a colorful look, because he’s the fourth boy and who cares. He got blue eyes and red hair again (argh!) but his skin color is Emerson’s, not Kyla’s, so that’s a little different. He has Adrian’s smug face, too.

09-19-14_4-55 PM

Baby 5, away! Please, baby, help me out…

09-19-14_4-56 PM

“Aww, mommy’s little boy!”

OH FOR CRYING OUT LOUD

09-19-14_4-57 PM

He was welcomed with open arms, though. Everyone was happy to see him and got all these adorable moodlets from meeting a new family member.

I named him Evan. He is Emerson and Kyla’s last child. Why last? I still have one space open, right? (And I’m just crazy enough to run a household of eight sims.)

Well, there’s the little matter of age…

09-19-14_4-58 PM

Emerson and Kyla had eighteen days, and those days are gone. Emerson is becoming an Adult, young no more…

09-19-14_7-32 PM-2

And Kyla… Kyla is old. She’s already 100!

Sigh. She had her Evan on her last day of Adult, and that’s it. That was my last chance at another girl. Anne is it when it comes to next heiress.

09-20-14_1-39 PM

“Kneel before me, for I am Anne! The cutest, funnest, awesomest kid ever! Be my friend or die!”

I guess I like her. She’s not as cute as Arthur, or as sneaky fun as mean little Adrian, but she’s all right. And she’s my next heiress by default.

The triplets are about to grow up into teenagers. Next time, I guess, we’ll see where the next stage of their lives takes them. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment